Sunday, January 23, 2011

REYNOLDS PRICE February 1, 1933 - January 20, 2011

Reynolds Price, acclaimed North Carolina novelist and story writer died in Durham, NC, January 20, 2011. He was 77 years old.The cause of death was complications from a heart attack. 

Although Reynolds Price had been a paraplegic for more than 30 years (from spinal cancer 1984) he continued to write. He was one of America’s most prolific writers. He was an American novelist, dramatist, essayist and James B. Duke Professor of English at Duke University.
His first novel, A Long and happy Life  was published in 1962.
Other publications:
The Names and Faces of Heroes (1963)
A Generous Man (1966)
Love and Work ( 1968)
Permanent Errors ( 1970)
Things Themselves (1972)
The Surface of Earth (1975) (part one of the A Great Circle
trilogy of novels aka The Mayfield Trilogy
Early Dark (1977)
A Palpable God (1978) (translations from the Old and New Testaments)
The Source of Light (1981) (part two of A Great Circle trilogy.
Vital Provisions (poems 1982)
Mustian (1983)
Private Contentment (1984 a television play)
KateVaiden (1986)
The Laws of Ice (poems, 1986)
A Common Room ( 1987)
Good Hearts ( 1988)
Clear Pictures ( memoir, 1990)
The Tongues of Angels (1990)
The Use of Fire (poems, 1990)
New Music ( trilogy of plays, 1990)
The Foreseeable Future (stories, 1991)
Blue Calhoun (1992)
Full Moon (play, 1993)
The Collected Stories (1993)
A Whole New Life (memoir describing his survival of spinal cancer, 1994)
The Promise of Rest (part three of the A Great Circle trilogy, 1995)
Three Gospels (Translation of Mark and John, with an introductory essay, 1996)
The Collected Poems (1997)
Roxanna Slade ( 1998)
Letter to a  Man in the Fire: Does God Exist and Does He Care? (epistolary essay, 1999)
A Singular Family: Rosacoke and Her Kin (1999)
Feasting the Heart (52 essays National Public Radio’s program All Things Considered)
Learning a Trade: A Craftsman’s Notebook, 1955-1997 (2000)
A Perfect Friend (children’s book, 2000)
Nobel Norfleet (2002)
A Serious Way of Wondering: The Ethics of Jesus Imagined (2003)
The Good Priest’s Son ( 2005)
Letter to a Godchild: Concerning Faith (2006)
Ardent Spirits: Leaving Home, Coming Back (memoir)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thank you Nancy, for honoring Reynolds Price. Besides being a prolific writer, he was a kind and giving person. Through a letter to me concerning dealing with our mutual problem of constant pain, he helped me at a crossroads in my life. This was 20 years ago. His help remains with me.

Maren O. Mitchell